Riyad Mahrez up for second CAF African Player of the Year award

Manchester City and Algeria winger Riyad Mahrez is part of an illustrious cast of players nominated for the 2018 CAF African Player of the Year award.

Mahrez, who previously won the award in 2016, is on a list of 34 players along with the likes of Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal) and Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli).

The 27-year-old is City’s club-record signing and after an adaptation period has begun to show more of the form that led to him being named the PFA Player of the Year for 2015-16 when he inspired Leicester to the Premier League title.

The list will be cut to three finalists and the winner will be announced on January 8 in Dakar, Senegal.

City have a history with this award after Yaya Touré won it four years running from 2011 to 2014 during his prime years at the Etihad Stadium.

Full list of CAF African Player of the Year nominees:

• Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)
• Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)
• Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr )
• Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
• Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
• Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
• Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)
• Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
• Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
• Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)
• Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
• Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
• Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
• Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)
• Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
• Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)
• Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
• Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
• Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
• Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
• Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
• Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
• Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai, Nigeria)
• Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)
• Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
• Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
• Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
• Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
• Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
• Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)
• Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
• Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
• Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
• Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top