Yaya Touré nominated for BBC African Footballer of the Year award

Yaya Touré has been nominated for the 2016 BBC African Footballer of the Year award, one of five on a shortlist that includes four Premier League stars.

Touré has won the award twice previously, in 2013 and 2015, and despite not having his best year and now finding himself frozen out of the City matchday squad, is again a candidate for the award this year.

The BBC award was founded in 1991, with Abédi Pelé winning the inaugural prize.

Touré has also won the CAF African Footballer of the Year on four occasions (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) before his win streak was broken last year by Borussia Dortmund forward and rumoured Manchester City target, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

If you want to vote for Touré or any of the other candidates (Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mané) for BBC African Footballer of the Year, you can do so at this link.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top